Glossary: here the words are collected that in the Vahinis at this site are explained by Sai Baba, complemented with glossaries from Bhagavad Gîtâ and S'rîmad Bhâgavatam


| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | QR | S |T|U|V| W|XYZ|




  • Yad Bhavam Tad Bhavathi: As you think so you become (Discourse: God is the Indweller)
  • Yadus: the descendants of Yadu, in which dynasty Lord Krishna appeared.
  • Yaga: onetime sacrifice like the Aswamedha sacrifice. (BV-4), (RRV-10b).
  • Yajña: Sacrifice, holy ritual, (BV-10), (BV-16), sacrificial rite (RRV-6a) (RRV2-3) Yajña: a name of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, the goal and enjoyer of all sacrifices.
    Bhagavan Sathya Sai Baba about
    yajna: "The word ‘yajna’ means sacrifice; that is the primary purpose of the yajna. You sacrifice riches, comfort, power (all that promotes the ego) and merge in the Infinite. That is the attainment and the end. Yajnas are useful because they support the ideal of sacrifice, and condemn acquisition. They emphasise discipline, rather than distraction. They insist on the concentration of the mind, the tongue and the hand on Godhead. Cynics count the bags of grain and the kilograms of ghee, and ask for more bags and kilograms of contentment and happiness in return! The effects of yajna on the character and the consciousness cannot be measured or weighed in metres or grams. It is immeasurable, though actual and experienceable. The grain and ghee offered in the sacred fire to the accompaniment of Vedic formulae give thousandfold returns; they will cleanse and strengthen the atmosphere all over the world." (Divine Discourse, Dasara, Oct 7, 1970.)
  • Yajñapurusha:  The Person who accepts the Yajna (SSS-II)
  • Yajñavalkya: Sage (RRV-7c)
  • Yaksha: Ogress 
  • Yakshini: Female ogress (RRV-6b).
  • Yama: ... non-violence, honesty, celibacy and non-acceptance of gifts. Baba says, "This is the meaning usually given to this word. But I would say that Yama is really the giving up of attachment to the body and the senses." (SSS-IV)
  • Yamarâja: the demigod in charge of death and the punishment of sinful living entities.
  • Yâmunâcârya: a great Vaishnava spiritual master.
  • Yasha: fame (SSS-III)
  • Yas'odâ: the foster mother of Lord Krishna.
  • Yas'odâ-nandana: a name of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, who is the son of Yas'odâ.
  • "Yatho dharmasthatho jayah": "Where there is Dharma, there victory is achieved".
  • Yayâti: the king who, because of his lust, was cursed by Sukrâcârya to prematurely accept old age.
  • Yoga: Conquest of the senses, union of body, mind and soul, and with God (RRV-6b).
  • Yogasanas: Postures prescribed by yoga (SSS-IV)
  • Yoga-sûtra: analytic scripture by Patanjali on the ins and outs of the yoga philosophy, concentrating on the astanga yoga-system: the eightfold yoga.
  • Yogakshema: Acquisition and maintenance of welfare (SSS-III)
  • Yoga-vasishta: Dialogues between Rama and the Preceptor (Vasishta), also referred to as the Ramagitha. (RRV-5).
  • Yoges'vara: a name of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, the supreme master of all mystic power.
  • Yogi: A trenscendentalist who is striving for union with the Supreme.
  • Yojana: Nine miles (approx. 13 kilometer) (RRV-6b). Measures of distance (SB: C5, Chapter 16)
  • Yudhishthhira: the eldest Pândava, who Lord Krishna established as emperor of the entire earth.
  • Yuga:  Ages in the life of a universe, occurring in a repeated cycle of four. Era or age. There is a cycle of four yugas: Satya (Kritha), Treta, Dvapara and Kali. Together, the four yugas comprise 4.320.000 years. The present age is the Kali-yuga. (BV-30) "Period, age." One of four ages which chart the duration of the world according to Hindu thought. They are: Satya (or Kritha), Treta, Dvapara and Kali. In the first period, dharma reigns supreme, but as the ages revolve, virtue diminishes and ignorance and injustice increases. At the end of the Kali Yuga, which we are in now, the cycle begins again with a new Satya Yuga. It is said in the Mahabharata that during the Satya Yuga all are brahmins, and the color of this yuga is white. In the Treta Yuga, righteousness decreases by one-fourth and men seek reward for their rites and gifts; the color is red and the consciousness of the kshatriya, sovereignty, prevails. In the Dvapara Yuga, the four varnas come fully into existence. The color is yellow. In the Kali Yuga, the color is black. Righteousness is one-tenth that of the Satya Yuga. True worship and sacrifice cease, and base, or shudra, consciousness is prominent. Calamities, disease, fatigue and faults such as anger and fear prevail. People decline and their motives grow weak.
  • Yugavathar: The Lord incarnates in countless ways: He comes to close an epoch and inaugurate another- a Yugavathar .... but, the story of the Yugavathar alone is worth perusal for the Advent is to restore Dharma and moral life. The story of all the rest is but a story of distress and despair. (see also Amsa and Kalaa and Avathara). (BV-30). The four incarnations of the Supreme Lord that appear in the four yugas, or millenniums, to prescribe the appropriate method of spiritual realization for that age.
  • Yukthi: Means of attainment (BV-39). Means of attainment (BV-39).
  • Yuvaraja: Heir-apparent, crown-prince (RRV-9) (RRV-10a), (RRV-10b), (RRV-12).
  • Zenana: Room for women. (RRV-4)