Glossary: here the words are collected that in the Vahinis at this site are explained by Sai Baba, complemented with glossaries from Bhagavad Gîtâ and S'rîmad Bhâgavatam


| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | QR | S|T|U|V|W|XYZ|




  • Cadâr: woollen shawl.
  • Caitanya: ('living force') name of the incarnation of Krishna as Krishna-bhakta in 1486 in Bengal. Also called Mahâprabhu Krishna-Caitanya and Gauranga. Express: Tsjétanja. 
  • Caitanya Mahâprabhu: the incarnation of the Lord who descended to teach love of God through the sankirtana movement.
  • Caitanya-caritâmrita: The book of Krishnadâsa Kavirâja Goswâmî about the life and teachings of Lord Caitanya. 'The New Testament' of the Caitanya-vaishnava. 
    "So here is a very specific statement about S'rî Caitanya Mahâprabhu," said Prabhupâda. "He is
    avatâra. Caitanya Mahâprabhu is the same Supreme Personality of Godhead, but He is channa. Channa means covered, not directly. Because He has appeared as a devotee." S'rîla Prabhupâda explained why the Supreme Lord appeared in Kali-yuga as a devotee. " When Lord Krishna appeared, He ordered everyone to 'Surrender to Me.' But they took it, 'Who is this person asking like that? What right does he have? Why shall I give up?' But God Himself, the Supreme Being, He must order. That is God. But we think otherwise: 'Who is this man? Why is he ordering? Why shall I give up?' " The whole process of Krishna consciousness is submission, surrender to Krishna, S'rîla Prabhupâda explained. But the way to surrender to Krishna is to submit to His devotee, His representative. "S'rî  Caitanya Mahâprabhu appeared this day for giving mercy to the fallen souls who are so foolish they cannot take to Krishna consciousness. He is personally teaching them. That is this kîrtana". (Source: S'rîla Prabhupâda-Lîlâmrita, by Satsvarûpa dâsa Goswami)
  • Caitanya-vaishnava's: School of devotees of Lord Vishnu, who follow Lord Caitanya.
  • Cânakya Pandita: the brâhmana advisor of King Candragupta who was responsible for checking Alexander the Great's invasion of India.
  • Candra: the presiding demigod of the moon.
  • Candrasekhara Âcârya: a great householder devotee of Lord Srî Caitanya Mahâprabhu.
  • Cârvâka Muni: the originator of hedonistic philosophy.
  • Cakra: (disc) term in bhakti used for the totality of the celestial sky, or the disc of stars that is our Milky Way, that as a wheel or disc apparently revolves around the polar star but in fact revolves about the center of the galaxy. (see S'is'umara).
    - Also disc of Krishna or Sudarsana, the acute of His presence or supreme vision of Him; time as the weapon of Vishnu. A breach with the order of time or the cakra is a fall-down, a betrayal of niyama, or regulation. Consequence: a punishment of the fire of unbound energy released from the cakra-order, the broken order is the lust that leads to anger and ultimately madness: the head is cut off by the cakra when one remains in offense with Krishna.
  • Catuh sloki - 'four (catur) verses': The catuh sloki in the Gîtâ are Chapter 10, verses 8-11 and the catuh sloki in Srîmad Bhâgavatam are Canto 2, Chapter 9, verses 33-36. They are four essential 'seed' verses and equally important. 
  • Chamatkar(a): miracle (SSS-III)
  • Chandrayana: fasting period by crescent moon (RRV-8).
  • Channa-avatâra: covered, not directly; name of the covert incarnations of Krishna in Kali-yuga: this as opposed to His tri-yuga status; Krishna as his own devotee: son, prophet, sannyâsi. [Caitanya Mahâprabhu]
  • Chathurbhuja: Four-handed (Swami on Ganesha)
  • Chawl: Tenement (SSS-II)
  • 'Cheppinattu Chesthara?': which means, 'Are your deeds in accordance with your words?' (SSS-IV)
  • Chintamani: Wish-fulfilling-gem (RRV2-12b
  • Chitha-shudhi leads to Jnana-Sidhi, that is, goodness leads to godliness  (SSS-III)
  • Chiththachor: Name for Krishna, the stealer of hearts.
  • Chitrakethu and Chitrangada: The sons of Lakshmana (RRV2-14)
  • Citta: Consciousness, composed of three aspects, as follows: manas (mind), buddhi (intelligence) ahamkara (ego)
  • Creation (present) by Vedic Chronology: 
    Present creation exists within 1 day of
    1 day of Brahmâ is 1000 divya (divine)
    1 divya yuga equals 4 million 320 thousand years
    1000 times 4.320.000 years equals 1 day of Brahmâ
    1 day of Brahmâ equals 4 billion and 320 million years
    There are 14
    manvantaras in one day of Brahmâ
    14 divided into 4.320.000,000 = 308.571.428 years per manvantara
    Creation has already passed through 6 manvantar cycles
    6 manvantars multiplied by 308.571.428 equals 1.851.428.568 years
    Present creation is approximately 1 billion and 851 million years old
  • Crore(s): [Hindi karos] in India and Pakistan, one hundred lakhs, or the sum of ten million:  said specif. of rupees or land.
  • Cupid (Kandarpa): the demigod who incites lusty desires in the hearts of the conditioned living entities.